Passengers from the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, the UK and Turkey - including Indians - are to be denied travel to India until at least the end of March, the government told airlines on Monday.

According to the Office of the Director General of Civil Aviation:

“No airline shall board a passenger from these nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT on 18th March 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure.”

The Indian government also announced the expansion of compulsory quarantine for at least 14 days for passengers coming from or transiting the UAE, Qatar, Oman and Kuwait. This will also take effect from 1200 GMT on March 18.

A government circular added: “All scheduled Indian and foreign airlines engaged in international air transportation to/ from India are directed to scrupulously follow the above advisory and not to carry any passenger in violation thereof.”